What would “Tomorrow Me” do?

Focus

What do you do when you get a request? What’s your immediate response?

I try to ask myself, “Would I say “yes” if I had to do this tomorrow?” Meaning, would I make time in my packed schedule to do this if it was due the next day?

Admittedly, I don’t always abide by this practice!

When I don’t do this, and when the deadline or the event comes up, I wonder what possessed me to say ‘yes’ in the first place! Then I’m stuck doing something that I either really don’t want to do given other priorities or am now stressed to try and fit it in.

Ugh. If only I’d stuck to my practice!

Because the “tomorrow” answer was actually no andI would have simply had to say, “Thanks for reaching out, but I’m going to pass because my plate is full at this time.”

I’ve found that it’s easiest to just say “no” without offering a reason. Most people graciously accept and don’t pry.

So why am I telling you this?

As a disruptive leader, there is ALWAYS something coming at you. How do you figure out what to focus on? How do you know what to prioritize? How can you be intentional?

My friend and former colleague Jeremiah Owyaag had two sayings that resonate with me to this day. He would often say “Pay yourself first.” and very importantly would add, “The art of focus is the art of saying no.”

You have to start with yourself! After all, the art of saying no is all about saying yes to yourself.

– Charlene

My Latest: (pull from Content Library)

  • Leading is NOT about having all the answers. It’s about asking the right questions, especially in our hyperconnected, AI-driven world. Check out my latest livestream to learn why having the right answers is actually holding you back.

  • AI is everywhere right now — and it’s showing no signs of slowing down. You can avoid it…or you can embrace it. (I suggest the latter!) In Leading Disruption, I share how to do that safely and responsibly.

  • AI is better at some things than humans. And it’s highlighting the limits of human intelligence. But does that make it intelligent? Or smarter than us? Join me on Tuesday, May 16 at 9 am PT as I tackle these tricky questions — and attempt to define intelligence.

Good Things: (Eva will supply from meeting notes)

  • What I’m reading: Excellent Advice for Living by Kevin Kelly. The book just launched, and what can I say? It’s full of excellent advice! 😉 I’m really enjoying it — and am givinging copies to my kids as well as friends.

  • What I’m using: Decorilla and Yardzen. I’m tired of looking at my blank walls and empty backyard and my design skills are very limited! So I’m using these two sites to help decorate and spice up my outdoor living space. If you’re in need of some design help, here are discount codes for Decorilla and Yardzen (disclosure: I also get a referral bonus which I’ll be donating to Girls Who Code).

  • What I’m hacking: Totally dark bedroom. I’m finding it harder to stay asleep as the sun rises earlier so I’m on a mission to eliminate every little fractal of light that creeps into my bedroom. One problem: the light that seeps in on the sides of my blackout shades. I could buy these on Amazon but ended up hacking a better and lower cost solution with plastic angle mouldings and a big roll of self-adhesive Velcro that I also used on the inside of the L channels to capture light. Ahhh…sleeping well is the best!

Thank you for subscribing to the Disruption Dispatch, which goes out to thousands of disruptors every other week and which always offers a short content piece to help you on your disruption journey and a curated list of Three Good Things that I’m enjoying and recommend.