Is it possible for a disruptive leader to be “fearless”?

Fear. It feels terrible AND it’s inevitable, especially for disruptive leaders like you and me.

We must come face to face with our personal fears before we can tackle the anxiety, uncertainty, and doubt that come with leading a team and organization (and ourselves!) through a disruptive strategy and change.

There are tons of “fearless” books, articles and hashtags — but is it actually possible to be “fearless”?

We need to talk about it! That’s why I’m so excited to have my friend and author John Hagel join me for a special livestream on Monday, June 7th, at 9:00 am PT / 12:00 pm ET on LinkedIn and Facebook Live, to take us on a journey beyond our fears (the topic of his latest book).

Hit reply and let me know your questions about fear. I’ll ask John as many as I can so we can answer them live on Monday.

My Latest:

  • In case you missed it: I'm developing a cohort-based course on Disruptive Leadership, and I need your help developing it! We'll start small, gather feedback, iterate, and see how it goes. If you're curious, fill out this form to let me know.

  • Do you have power? How do you know? And how do you get more of it? Watch my latest livestream to discover a new paradigm of power — one based on abundance, not scarcity.

  • Want more power? I recently joined my friend Sharon Melnick on her podcast “The Power Shift”. You can listen to that episode here but I also encourage you to subscribe to Sharon’s podcast.

  • In my next Tuesday livestream, I’ll be sharing the importance of “liminal space” for disruption and change — including how we created it for my son when he graduated! Join me on Tuesday, June 8th at 9:00 am PT / 12:00 pm ET on LinkedIn and Facebook Live.

  • Want more written content? Subscribe to my weekly LinkedIn newsletter Leading Disruption and get my long form articles delivered directly to your inbox.

Good Things:

  • Good Reads: John’s hot-off-the-presses book on fear is fantastic. Check out The Journey Beyond Fear and learn to consciously cultivate hope and excitement, so you can achieve more meaningful, disruptive impact.

  • Referral: it’s Pride Month! I just learned about different pride flags in this article. You’ll get history, colorful imagery, and a deeper understanding of the diversity in the LGBTQ+ community.

  • Resource: I detest filing. Really, my brain starts exploding when trying to fit information into neat hierarchies because that’s not how our brains work. I recently switched my note taking from Evernote to Roam Research which enables bi-directional linking and creates a graph of my information (see below). Even individual bullets in a note can be linked and referenced as an entity. Mind blown. There’s a learning curve to using Roam (Nat Eliason has a great explainer post and course) but it enables me to really use it as a “second brain”. More on that next time!

 I love Otter.ai! My team and I use it almost daily to transcribe livestreams, videos, interviews and more. I especially like using it to record and transcribe voice memos on the go It’s fast, easy to use, and convenient. If you’re in the market for transcription software, I highly recommend it.