How do you serve the world?

“So. How do you serve the world?”

I was at a networking event in January 2020 with other leadership coaches when a woman I’d been chatting with, Julie Carrier, hit me with this doozy.

(By the way, if you’re ever looking for a positive environment, hang out with a group of leadership coaches! There were around 300 at this event, and every single one was happy and invested in helping people. Such a positive group of people looking for the best in everyone!)

I was immediately taken by this question.

Sure, I have my purpose statement. It was on the tip of my tongue. A perfect answer:

“I catalyze transformation to maximize human potential.”

But it didn’t feel quite right.

I realized I wasn’t living my purpose and my values as much as I could be. In that moment, I made a commitment to change that.

Of course, then COVID hit and I was bowled over like everyone else – even the happy-go-lucky group of leadership coaches!

But I kept coming back to this question. It helped ground me and was a huge source of focus, strength, and solace for me during the pandemic’s most tumultuous months. It was a key motivator for me to start my weekly livestreams on LinkedIn, my weekly Leading Disruptions, even restarting my biweekly Dispatches!

How do I serve the world in this moment?

I think of the camp owner who asks parents and kids about their talents and passions. Or my son, who once chose to describe himself as really kind (he was only fourteen. And I can tell you that was a beautiful moment for his parents!).

We don’t usually bring the same level of open curiosity and eagerness to asking our colleagues about their talents and passions, or how they’re serving the world. But why not?

Take a moment, right now, to consider: what do you admire and find amazing about the people you work with?

Good! Now:

Tell them! Let them know what you really value about them: “I appreciate you because of XYZ.”

The reality is, most of us don’t recognize our own superpowers. It’s like Superman asking Batman: “Can’t everyone fly?” Our talents simply feel normal to us.

My friend and fellow author Sharon Melnick does this for me. She has an amazing ability to reflect back to me the impact I have. That’s because she takes the time to deepen our relationship with care, understanding, honesty, and appreciation.

One of the gifts of relationships is that we can see our strengths reflected to us by others.

If you’re not sure where your strengths lie or how you’re serving the world, the best way is to ask people. Ask your colleagues, your friends, your family members: “What are my talents?”

I’d love to hear what answers you get! Hit reply and tell me what your superpower is and how you use it to serve the world.

I’m in Black Rock Desert at Burning Man this week, but I’m looking forward to an inbox full of strengths when I get back. 😉

– Charlene

My Latest:

  • I do something very unusual on my employees’ first day working for me. Check out this livestream to learn how I make their first day unforgettable.

  • We all know most employees won’t stay forever. So why do we act like it?! In Leading Disruption, I share how everything changes when you acknowledge the reality.

  • Upcoming Livestream “The Leadership Hack of Radical Acceptance” on September 13.

  • Check out my podcast episode Vered Kogan’s show “The MINDset Game” about “How to Successfully Navigate Disruption”. One of the things we discuss are the three questions that everyone in an organization should be able to answer.

Good Things:

  • Reads: I had a close family member recently pass away and the book Being Mortal by Atul Gawande was particularly helpful with insights on how to embrace illness and aging and to live a good life all the way to the end.

  • Referrals: I’ve discovered the beauty of adding “fun” lighting to my home office, and I get so many comments on my background now. My secret? LED strip lights. They’re cool and fun - I have mine on a slow fade rotation and inserted them into the wall sculpture behind me. I also love my inexpensive colored spotlights – only $40. Give them a try!

Resource: Splitwise! It’s such an easy way to share expenses. It’s great for roommates, or people sharing an RV (like yours truly). Accounting is SO easy, it takes who pays for what, and it keeps the peace! It’s great for ongoing expenses and perfect for family vacations or retreats, too!